What You Have Created...

I can remember very little about those years-
It's easy to block out what you don't want to remember.
Trap the screams inside, hold them down until they stop struggling.
And they become utterly silent.
Close my eyes to the memories of childhood innocence robbed.
Don't dare to unleash the steaming tears held in the dam beneath my lids.
Bite my lip until I taste the blood and forget the pain from my past.
I can almost forget. Almost.
But you- you are my constant reminder.
I know you think you got away with it all....
You didn't.
Walking, talking, breathing, living-
You think you have cheated us all....
You didn't.
Forgetting it, pushing it to the abyss in your mind,
Moving on, hoping I would forget too.
I didn't.
I remember.
I remember the pain, I still feel it today.
The constant gnawing of a secret.
I remember the humiliation, I know now it wasn't my fault.
I remember the fear, cowering, from you, and inside my own self.
I remember the tears, an endless torrent of rain.
I remember the screams, one long, low cry.
But I am just waiting.
Biding my time.
One day what I know and hold will pour out of me-
Like an uncontrollable, raging flood of fury...
Consuming you and dragging you down.
Screaming at others of your crime.
Painful moans will rip from your throat.
Your eyes will overflow with tears.
Your hand will grasp air.
And you will beg,
And you will plead, with all your soul....
And I will ignore you....just as you ignored me.
Then you will become silent.
Your struggling will cease.
Your eyes will close.
And you will give yourself up....
To what you have created.

previous | next