Learn to Love Again

It wasnt so very long ago,
I decided to close up my heart-
pack it up, put it away,
store that sensitive part.
It was soon forgotten,
hidden in the back of my mind,
for I never thought it would be treated
anything but unkind.
It forgot how to love,
forgot how to care,
because when I opened it up,
the pain was too much to bear.
But then came a man-
gentle, loving and sweet,
I got out the box containing my heart
and let the two of them meet.
My heart fell in love again
I tried so hard not to follow along
but then I finally realized
this is where my heart belongs.
Held by a gentle hand,
looking deep into his eyes
telling him I love him
and its okay to cry.
Today Im glad I opened my heart
let it break free from that box
released all the emotions it held
beneath its chains and locks.
It hadnt forgotten after all
how to let someone in
It just needed the chance
to learn to love again.

previous | next