My knee went out on me at practice today.
Again.
Told coach it was fine.
Quarterback of an All-Star team feels no pain, right?
But it hurt like hell.
The Doc says I need to sit this next game out.
A little more healing time, he says.
But words gettin around that some
scouts from the college will be there.
To see me.
I gotta play, Doc.
Dad and I tossed the ball around for a while tonight.
After a bit Dad asked why I was dragging ass.
I told him the ache was coming back.
He looked at me with wounded ego eyes.
This team will go to the top. Right, Jacob?
Yes, Dad.
And you will take it there, right Jacob?
You bet, Dad.
All the way.
You bet.

* * *

I just got home from school.
It was actually a pretty good day.
We got our new team jackets today.
Mine is awesome, red with "Sampson" on the back.
Mark and Joe helped me put it on.
Perfect fit.
I was in a real good mood until that stupid
emergency brake got stuck.
Again.
I hate this damn wheelchair.
Right?
Right?
You bet.

previous | next