They tried
to raise me well.
To mold me into
tiny little replicas
of themselves.
To give me a big room
all by myself.
Nice clothes.
A pantry stocked with
food.
Piano lessons.
Ballet lesson.
Horseback riding lessons.
A tennis coach.
They tried to give me everything...
and they did.
And they were proud.

Internally...

I was naked.
Poor.
Alone.
I starved.
Lost.
Un-educated.
Hurting.

Didnt they see?
Didnt they realize?
I had nothing.

Teach me.
Love me.
Feed me.
Nurture me.
Tell me how to grow.
Help me.

But they were blinded.
By the brassy glare of
the dresser drawer knobs
of my furniture set.
The silver sequins
on my prom dresses.
The polished piano keys.
The many trophies.

They gave to me so
generously.
So freely.
Water.
Soil.
Air.
Food.

They planted my seeds.
Everything I needed.

But all the sunlight...
they forgot.

4-21-99
Creative Writing II

previous | next