i hide behind these words
because i have so much to say
i cant let you see me
or the pain i feel everyday

i hide behind these words
because if i let them flow free
its a sudden rush of pain
and im afraid you will flee

i hide behind these words
because its so easy to lie
to pretend that im okay
and that nothing makes me cry

i hide behind these words
because im scared to admit
that im terrified what will happen
if i open up even a little bit

i hide behind these words
because ive been hurt long before
every time i offered myself
my heart was broken and tore

i hide behind these words
because youre trying so hard to come in
but because i trust in you
ill open up once again

no longer will i hide behind words
so ill tell you what is true
just dont get upset with me
when i tell you that im in love with you.

previous | next