i feel like you wanted a perfect girl
and instead you ended up with me
you wanted a girl with everything
and thats what i tried to bring

evidenly i didnt work hard enough
didnt say the right things
no matter how much i brought to you
it wasnt enough of me

i gave you all that was my heart
including body, soul and mind
things i didnt feel i had
i worked so hard to find

i tried to make myself better for you
be exactly what you wanted to be
because i loved you more than anything
more than i ever loved me

in time you decided it was over
i wasnt enough, you see
and now here i am still loving you
trying to find whats wrong with me

i look inside and see nothing wrong
im sweet, loving and true
i feel like you cheated me
but theres nothing i can do

youll move on to someone else
will she be enough inside?
searching for her maybe youll see
its your insecurity youre trying to hide

look deep inside yourself now
and ask yourself what went wrong
it wasnt what i didnt give you
its what i gave you all along

i was proud of myself
and i was in love with being me
i was true to myself
something you couldnt be

i gave you a little too much
perhaps you were jealous of me
you couldnt handle me at all
being better than youll ever be.

previous | next