been a long time since
ive wrote a poem about you
been a long time since
ive cried over you
does this mean im moving on,
growing up getting past?
or does it mean ive realized
we werent meant to last?

im starting to see now
in my heart i feel its true
you were meant to touch me for a time
and help me make it through
you were meant to be mine
but only for a while
to make me better for someone else
someone who really loves my smile

and i was meant to touch you
only for a bit
help you realize that youre amazing
and to give love is better than to get

i just hope i taught you well enough
and that when your time comes along
youll fall in love all over again
but not forget our song

for you see, ive fallen deep in love again
and this time its with someone new
i know i couldnt do it without being taught to love
and thats why i say thank you...

previous | next