i want back the small things
that i had when i was with you
small things that dont matter to anyone
small things you and i only knew

like the night on the front porch
the night you begged me to stay
the night you told me to never go
and promised we would be together one day

or the time that you called me
scared and so very alone
the night you broke the razors
while i cried at my end of the phone

when you fought with your parents
and they said you had to leave
and i jokingly said to come here
and you seriously said youll see

remember sitting on the trunk of your car?
you came across the states for me
i came running down the sidwalk to you
and the man i loved i finally got to see

we ate sonic together that first night
chili dogs and tater tots with cheese
and remember how it snowed that one day?
and we thought for sure we would freeze?

our showers together were always playful
you wouldnt stop spraying me in the face
i miss playing video games together
making bowser and toadie race

i would cook you dinner each night
and you would sweeten the tea
and each time id kiss you
youd tell you that you loved me

and when we took the trash out
walked back from the dumpster hand in hand
in the middle of the night id cry
and youd hold me and always understand

you always made me laugh so hard
with all the crazy things you did
like getting us kicked out of kmart
and acting like a little kid

our water fights and petty arguments
you never did the dishes at all
and the way youd answer your cell phone at night
when i missed you i just had to call

i loved having you here, you see
it was my whole lifes dream
to be with you and have you as mine
was far better than it ever seemed

i miss you so much and you know i do
i tell you every chance i can
but you have changed and i am lost
youve turned into a different man

do you ever think of me and the way
all the small things used to be?
or have you simply forgotten it all
forgot that the small things are always free

because though i am not alot
and i dont have much to give
ill give you all that i am
and for as long as i live

as for all the small things
i would give them to you in a heartbeat again
because they are all that truly matter
youll see that one day, my friend

ill make memories with someone else
and my heart will finally be enough
but when its my small things youll miss
im sorry, but thats just tough.

previous | next