im handing you something precious
wrapped up in smiles and tears
its laced with hope and daydreams
and speckled with a few fears

its a little bruised and battered
and not the prettiest thing
but at times its simply beautiful
and so many songs it sings

youve got to be gentle with it
hold it close and take care
treat it with respect and love
and try to always be fair

you may unwrap it now
but only one thing i ask
dont drop it or crush it
its my heart, made of glass

and if you dont want it
just pass it back right to me
i wont be mad, ill understand
the cost of loving me is free

but the price to pay is steep
for hurting me like so many have done
there are no 9 lives for a heart
there is only one

so make your choice carefully
accept me or let me go
dont play games or lead me on
please just let me know

ive set my heart before you now
the decision is all yours
embrace it now or turn around
and walk your ass out the door

i dont want to be be hateful
but i wont settle for nothing less
because i vowed not so long ago
that was the last time id be in this mess

take my heart and love me
for all i give and all i can be
regardless if you hand it back or not
it always belongs to me

by accepting it youre getting a gift
and forever itll stay true
because as broken and battered as it is
it will still beat forever for you

previous | next