Jason
pushed me down the stairs yesterday
and kicked me.
We were at his moms house.
No one saw.
He told me that I was
wearing too much makeup.
You look like a fucking slut.
I tried to explain
it was to cover my black eye
from Monday.
He got pissed.
Slapped me.

When I got home Mom had a fit.
I told her I slipped
on some ice, walking home.
It doesnt hurt much.
She shook her head.
You are so damn clumsy, Sonia.

Later, he called.
He was upset and explained
It was a bad day, Babydoll.
He promised he would never
never
do it again.
He never wants to lose me.

I cried. I always cry.
I told him,
I love you so much it hurts,
Jase.


I know he will forget his promise.
In a day or two.
But I wiped away the
tears on my cheeks.
Got an ice pack from the freezer,
put it on my bruised shoulder.
And told him
Come over, baby. I miss you.

previous | next