i want to tell you to leave
that i do love you
but im just not happy
that i wish you the best
and that if you ever
want to talk,
i am always here

and you would go

three or four long days would pass
i would cry every night
wondering where you are
wondering if i did the right thing
marveling at my strength
thinking about what youre thinking

and on the fourth night
Im laying between sheets
that still havent been washed
you are in the doorway
and without a word between us
you lay beside me and hold me
touch me
kiss me
need me

and i know that we would be okay then
that you had reached that
sweet sweet epiphany
that point of life that
i have been aching for you to reach
the point where you understand
and know that we are good
and right
and youd stay
and be happy with me

but im scared to tell you to leave
because i dont know if you
would ever come back
and im just not that strong
and id rather have something
than nothing

previous | next